Tag Archives: jazz

September 22, 2020

DJ Shadow “Lost And Found” Headz  (Mo’ Wax)
DJ Krush “On the Dub-ble” Modern Mantra  (Shadow Records)
Bobby Hutcherson “Goin’ Down South” San Francisco  (Blue Note)
Eddie Harris & Les McCann “Shorty Rides Again”  Second Movement (Atlantic)
Alfa Mist “Galaxy” Galaxy  (Decca)
Katalyst “WhatsAname” Nine Lives  (Alpha Pup Records)
Butcher Brown “Broad Rock” #KingButch  (Concord Jazz)
Invisible Scratch Pickles “Invasion of the Octopus People” Return of the DJ Vol. 1 (Bomb HipHop)
Mura Masa “Untitled feat. Moses Boyd” Untitled (Anchor Point)
DJ Shadow “The Number Song” Endtroducing (Mo’ Wax)
ohbliv “PMA Invocation”  Spirit Medicine (694479 Records DK)
DJ Andy Smith & Jungle Brothers “How Ya Want It (I Got It)” The Document  (Polygram)
RjD2 “And It Sold For 45k”  The Fun Ones (RJ’s Electrical Connections)
Non Phixion “I Shot Reagan (feat. Necro)”  I Shot Reagan (Uncle Howie Records)
DJ Food “The Crow”  Various: Funkungfusion (Ninja Tune)
Jurassic 5 “Concrete Schoolyard” J 5 (Clean Edition) (Decon)
Biz Markie “Pickin’ Boogers” Diabolical (Rhino)
Del Tha Funkee Homosapien “Mistadobalina” Mistadobalina (Elektra)
A Tribe Called Quest “Can I Kick It?” People’s Instinctive Travels and the Paths of Rhythm (Zomba / BMG)

Episode 013

September 08, 2020

Mourning [A] BLKstar “If I Can I May”  The Cycle (Don Giovanni Records)
Shabazz Palaces “Shine a Light (feat. Quazarz & Thaddillac)” Quazarz: Born on a Gangster Star (Sub Pop)
Rudolph Johnson “The Highest Pleasure”  Theo Parrish’s Black Jazz Signature (Black Jazz)
Ashley Henry feat. Makaya McCraven “Dark Honey (4TheStorm)”  Beautiful Vinyl Hunter  (Sony)
Betty Davis “Shut Off The Light”  Nasty Gal  (Island)
Thundercat “Them Changes”  Beyond / Where the Giants Roam  (Brainfeeder)
Joe Armon-Jones “Almost Went Too Far”  Starting Today  (Brownswood Recordings)
Kamaal Williams “Pigalle”  Wu Hen  (Black Focus)
Kamasi Washington “Desire”  Harmony of Difference (Young Turks)
Jeff Parker “Gnarciss”  Suite for Max Brown  (International Anthem)
Ohbliv “Change 85”  Change 85  (Fat Beats Records)
Rob Swift “Sound the Horn” The Architect (Ipecac)
Nubya Garcia “Inner Game”  SOURCE  (Concord Jazz)
Shabaka and the Ancestors “Run, The Darkness Will Pass”  We Are Sent Here By History  (Impulse!)
Solange “Cranes in the Sky”  A Seat at the Table  (Columbia)
Yazmin Lacey “Morning Matters”  Morning Matters  (Own Your Own Records)
Yussef Kamaal “Remembrance”  Black Focus  (Brownswood Recordings)
Moses Boyd “Rye Lane Shuffle”  Rye Lane Shuffle  (Exodus Records)
Takuya Kuroda “Everybody Loves The Sunshine”  Rising Son  (Bluenote)
Herbie Hancock “Spank-A-Lee”  Flood  (COLUMBIA/LEGACY)

Episode 011

August 11, 2020

Oliver Nelson “Dumpy Mama”  Skull Session  Light In the Attic (reissue)

Richard “Groove” Holmes “Mama’s Groove”  Six Million Dollar Man  Ace Records

Lonnie Liston Smith “Expansions” from Cosmic Funk & Spiritual Sounds Flying Dutchman

David Axelrod “Songs Of Innocence”  Songs of Innocence  Blue Note

Massive Attack “Ritual Spirit”  Ritual Spirit  Virgin

Aphex Twin “minipops 67 [120.2][source field mix]”  Syro  Warp Records

 Mazzy Star “I’ve Gotta Stop”  Seasons of Your Day  Rhymes of an Hour Records

Dum Dum Girls “Coming Down”  Only in Dreams  Sub Pop

Beth Orton “She Cries Your Name”  Pure… Acoustic  Sony Music Entertainment

múm “Island Of Childrens Children”  Summer Make Good  Fatcat Records

Tortoise “I Set My Face To The Hillside”  TNT  Thrill Jockey

Purple Mountains “Snow is Falling in Manhattan”  Purple Mountains Drag City

R.E.M. “World Leader Pretend” from Green   Rhino/Warner Bros.

Michael Stipe,Big Red Machine “No Time For Love Like Now”  single  37d03d

Taylor Swift feat. Bon Iver “exile” from folklore 

The Magnetic Fields “100,000 Fireflies”  The Wayward Bus / Distant Plastic Trees  Merge

Negativland “Favorite Things”  No Business  Seeland

Unwound “Kantina”  Rat Conspiracy on Numero Group

Seam “Road to Madrid”  The Problem With Me  Touch & Go Records

The National “Don’t Swallow the Cap” Trouble Will Find Me  4AD

Fruit Bats “Today” single Merge

Episode 007